Being accused of theft can be an intimidating experience. Even worse, the consequences of even a single conviction for any type of theft charge can have dire repercussions in both your personal and professional life, potentially including a permanent record as a felon.
Whether this is your first time facing theft allegations, you will almost certainly need an experienced private defense attorney. Our expert Sunrise theft lawyers can work toward the best possible resolution, given the facts of your case.
Under Florida Statutes § 812.014, theft is when a person intentionally takes or uses someone else’s property, either temporarily or permanently preventing the owner from using or benefiting from it or taking the property for their own use without permission. Both core elements of theft—knowing that the property belonged to someone else and intending to take it from the owner or benefit from it personally—must be present for a theft charge to result in a conviction.
Without either of these crucial elements, convicting a defendant of theft would be impossible under state law. For instance, if someone took something belonging to someone else but did not intend to deprive the owner of their property, this could serve as the basis for a defense. An expert Sunrise theft attorney can provide more information on the defenses available in a specific case.
FL Stat. §812.014 differentiates between misdemeanor “petit theft” and felony “grand theft” based mainly on the financial value of the goods. The theft of under $100 worth of property, money, or services is considered second-degree misdemeanor petit theft, while theft between $100 and $750 constitutes first-degree misdemeanor petit theft.
Third-degree felony grand theft involves someone taking between $750 and $20,000 of property, money, or services, or any of the following specific types of property:
Theft of between $20,000 and $100,000 of goods or money, up to $50,000 of commercial cargo, or over $300 worth of emergency medical or law enforcement equipment qualifies as second-degree felony grand theft. Theft of over $100,000 of goods or money or over $50,000 of commercial cargo is first-degree felony grand theft, as is any grand theft resulting in more than $1,000 of property damage or any property damage caused using a motor vehicle other than a getaway vehicle.
It can sometimes be tricky to understand the exact nature of the charges you are facing, but a Sunrise attorney can clarify the differences between theft charges.
A theft charge can completely upend your life. The quality of legal counsel you retain will significantly impact how your case plays out, so you must work with attorneys with a track record of success.
Our Sunrise theft lawyers are here to help you through your criminal case. We can get to work immediately investigating your charges and building your defense. Call today to set up your initial strategy session.
Rossen Law Firm’s legal team understands what’s at stake when you’re charged with a crime in South Florida. We’re committed to defending you and protecting your rights. Our legal team is ready to create a customized strategy for your case to fight for the best possible outcome. We handle Criminal, DUI, Federal, Domestic Violence, Marchman Act & Baker Act cases, and more.
Rossen Law Firm