While all DUIs are serious charges, a third conviction is especially consequential. Unlike first and second offenses, third offenses of this nature within a single ten-year period are categorized as a felony offense, and a third DUI conviction along any time scale can still be punished more harshly than virtually any type of first or second offense.
Put simply, third-time DUI in South Florida can be life-changing if you fail to address your charges proactively and effectively. Guidance from a seasoned DUI defense lawyer can make all the difference in your case results. At Rossen Law Firm, we don’t shy away from cases like these. Our award-winning team of expert attorneys are prepared to fight to get you the best possible outcome.
Anyone convicted three times within ten years of driving with a 0.08 percent or more blood alcohol concentration and/or while their faculties are impaired by alcohol or drugs has committed a third-degree felony offense, as per Florida Statutes §316.193. Offenses of this nature carry maximum sentences upon conviction of five years in prison—not jail, like prior DUI convictions might have carried—and $5,000 in fines, as well as up to five years’ probation. You will also have to serve at least 30 days of imprisonment with a minimum of 48 hours served consecutively.
If your DUIs did not all occur within ten years of each other, you might be subject to one year maximum jail time, plus $2,000 in fines. If your BAC exceeded 0.15 or if you had a minor with you in the vehicle, a mandatory minimum $4,000 fine may apply. Virtually all third-time DUI offenders in Fort Lauderdale must enroll in monthly-reporting probation and seek substance abuse treatment as well.
Someone convicted a third time of DUI inside a continuous ten-year span of time will be subject to impoundment or immobilization of their vehicle for a minimum of 90 days after their release from incarceration, with limited exceptions made for families with no other means of transportation. On top of that, third-time offenders within this time frame will be subject to a minimum ten-year driver’s license revocation with possible eligibility for hardship reinstatement after two years. A third DUI conviction outside of ten years may result in a license suspension of six to twelve months.
You will also need to complete DUI school upon conviction, as well as comply with requirements set by the DUI supervision program until your initial revocation term expires. Unlike with some prior convictions, where the requirement to get an ignition interlock device may have been contingent on whether your BAC exceeded 0.15 percent, third-time DUI in South Florida will result in mandatory IID installation for two years following conviction no matter what.
Third-time DUI charges are not something to take lightly. You could be facing serious prison time, fines, and consequences on your daily life. With that in mind, it can be particularly important to seek assistance from seasoned legal counsel if you are facing drunk driving charges after previously having been convicted twice for the same offense, especially if those two prior offenses occurred within the past ten years.
Our expert lawyers at Rossen Law Firm can explain your rights and options regarding your third-time DUI in South Florida during a free strategy session. To schedule yours, contact our Fort Lauderdale office today.
Rossen Law Firm’s legal team understands what’s at stake when you’re charged with a crime in South Florida. We’re committed to defending you and protecting your rights. Our legal team is ready to create a customized strategy for your case to fight for the best possible outcome. We handle Criminal, DUI, Federal, Domestic Violence, Marchman Act & Baker Act cases, and more.
Rossen Law Firm