Child endangerment accusations are not something to take lightly. The section of the Florida Statutes addressing child abuse and neglect—which is how most child endangerment accusations are prosecuted—defines every version of this offense as a felony, meaning that a conviction may result in years behind bars, steep fines, and a charge on your permanent record.
Contacting the best domestic violence attorney available should be your top priority if you have been charged with or are under investigation for neglecting or abusing your child. The expert Kendall child endangerment lawyers at Rossen Law Firm have handled countless cases like yours and are prepared to fight for your rights and future.
Most allegations of child endangerment in Florida are prosecuted under Florida Statutes § 827.03, which covers abuse, aggravated abuse, and neglect of a child. “Child neglect” involves a caregiver failing to provide a child with adequate food, medical care, shelter, supervision, or anything else necessary to meet that child’s basic physical and mental needs. Not making a reasonable effort to protect a child from being abused, neglected, or exploited by a third party is also considered neglect.
“Child abuse,” on the other hand, entails intentionally causing physical or mental injury to a child, acting in such a way that a reasonable person would expect the behavior to result in such harm, or actively encouraging another person to do something that could cause such harm. Someone may be prosecuted for “aggravated abuse” under this statute if they commit aggravated battery against a child, willfully torture or cage a child, engage in malicious punishment, or intentionally abuse the child in any way that directly results in significant bodily injury or permanent disability. A Kendall child endangerment attorney can explain these definitions in more detail and offer guidance about how the court might approach a particular case.
Neglecting a child “willfully or by culpable negligence” or knowingly and intentionally abusing a child (without causing great bodily harm or any form of permanent disability or disfigurement) is a third-degree felony offense. This is punishable by up to five years imprisonment and a $5,000 maximum fine. When child abuse or neglect causes great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement, the associated offense is a second-degree felony. This charge carries a maximum of 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Aggravated abuse of a child is a first-degree felony offense, carrying up to 30 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. Guidance from an expert child endangerment lawyer can be essential to mitigating the penalties associated with a child endangerment charge in Kendall.
Criminal charges for endangering a child in Florida carry harsh penalties. If you fail to defend yourself effectively and comprehensively against a charge like this, you will likely face life-altering criminal penalties. You also risk losing custody and visitation rights with your child and other children.
At Rossen Law Firm, we know that sometimes bad things happen to good people, and we are here to help. Our mission is to build the best possible defense on your behalf so that you can continue living your life.
Time is of the essence when it comes to contesting child endangerment accusations. Call today to learn how a Kendall child endangerment lawyer from our team can help you.
Rossen Law Firm’s legal team understands what’s at stake when you’re charged with a crime in South Florida. We’re committed to defending you and protecting your rights. Our legal team is ready to create a customized strategy for your case to fight for the best possible outcome. We handle Criminal, DUI, Federal, Domestic Violence, Marchman Act & Baker Act cases, and more.
Rossen Law Firm