Failure to Report Child Abuse Defense Attorney to Fight your Fort Lauderdale or South Florida charge

A South Florida Child withdraws from a teacher and peers in a photo. Sometimes, child abuse might not look like what you expect. Learn the signs ans know when and how to report child abuse in South Florida. Finding out you’re facing a Failure to Report Child Abuse charge in Fort Lauderdale or South Florida can feel overwhelming - perhaps you never even knew it was an actual crime, or don't even know what the charge alleges you have knowledge of, but Florida police are calling you saying you're being invesitagted. Rossen Law Firm is here to guide you every step of the way and to fight for, and protect, your rights.

 

What is a Failure to Report Child Abuse Crime in Florida? 

Failure to Report Child Abuse or Neglect occurs when a mandatory reporter knowingly and willfully fails to report known or suspected acts of child abuse, abandonment, or neglect to the Florida Abuse Hotline.

[FLA. STAT. § 39.205 (2019)]

 

It's important to know: any person who knows, or has reasonable cause to suspect, that a child is being abused, abandoned or neglected by a parent, legal guardian, caregiver or other person responsible for the child's well-fare is a mandatory reporter, according to Florida's state laws.

 

You can report child abuse online to the FL department of Children and Families. You can also call the hotline number at: 1-800-962-2873. The hotline is 24/7. The hotline is accessible for Spanish and Creole speakers, as well as English.

 

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE

Failure to Report Child Abuse or Neglect in Florida is a third-degree felony and punishable by up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation, and a $5,000 fine.

 

FAILURE TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY IN SOUTH FLORIDA

If you’re facing a Failure to Report Child Abuse or Neglect Crime in Florida, we are here to lend a helping & an expert hand and help you through this challenging time. We have experience defending people facing all sorts of child abuse crimes, and are ready to protect your future and your rights. 

 

Failure to Report Child Abuse Defenses in Florida

  • Lack of Reasonable Suspicion: While a person has a mandatory duty to report known acts of child abuse or neglect, such as when a child specifically states they have been abused or neglected, a person is not required to report suspected acts of child abuse that are based solely on gossip, rumor, or speculation.
  • Rather, a person is only required to report suspected child abuse or neglect if reasonable suspicion exists to support the belief that abuse or neglect occurred.  

Free Failure to Report Child Abuse Criminal Defense Strategy Session in Fort Lauderdale

Everyone makes mistakes; that’s life. No matter how good you are, smart you are, or careful you are. We are here to listen, not judge, and to answer any & all burning questions you may have. 

 

Contact our office if you’re facing a failure ro report child abuse or neglect charge in Florida. We’ll listen to your story, discuss the best course of action for you, and see what resources may help you. One mistake shouldn’t have the power to destroy your life - and we’ll fight to make sure it doesn’t.

 

We offer FREE strategy sessions so you know how we’ll work to get the best possible result on your case for you.

 

Give us a call today:

HOW WE WIN CHILD ABUSE CASES IN SOUTH FLORIDA