Aggravated Battery Criminal Defense Attorney to Fight your Fort Lauderdale charge
Facing Aggravated Battery and criminal charges can feel intimidating and overwhelming, but Rossen Law Firm is ready to lend you and your loved ones a helping (and expert) hand.
What is an Aggravated Battery Crime in Florida?
An Aggravated Battery crime in Florida is when someone actually touches or injures another person against their will with the intent to cause serious bodily injury or while using a deadly weapon.
In legal terms, Aggravated Battery is the deliberate touching of another person that causes great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement, or a battery using a deadly weapon.
CONSEQUENCES OF AGGRAVATED BATTERY CRIMES IN FLORIDA
Aggravated Battery is generally classified as a second-degree felony in Florida, punishable by up to 15 years in prison or 15 years of probation, and up to $10,000 in fines. The penalties for Aggravated Battery increase significantly when the issue involves a person with or using a gun. If a gun is involved, Florida’s 10-20-Life Law will mandate prison time upon a conviction depending on the extent of harm caused.
Learn about more battery and assault crime penalties in Florida here.
AGGRAVATED BATTERY CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY IN SOUTH FLORIDA
If you’re facing an aggravated battery charge - you’ve come to the right place. Rossen Law Firm has extensive experience with the intricacies of the law and provides a compassionate and expert defense to aggravated battery charges.
While these situations can feel isolating, many others have been where you are, and Adam and his team have successfully helped them come out to the other side.
Give our office a call if you’re facing aggravated battery charges. We’ll listen to your story, discuss the best course of action for you and see what resources may help you. One mistake shouldn’t have the power to ruin your life - and we’ll fight to make sure it doesn’t.
Aggravated Battery Defenses in Florida
Self-Defense: Self-defense is a type of affirmative defense used to mitigate or avoid legal consequences of an otherwise unlawful use of force. A self-defense claim recognizes the commission of a violent act, but excuses the act on the grounds that it was reasonably necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to themselves. When a person is legally present and fearful of their life, Florida’s “Stand Your Ground” law provides legal immunity to those who use deadly force to defend themselves.
Defendant Did Not Have a Deadly Weapon:. For a conviction, it must be proven that the defendant had used a deadly weapon or intended to commit a felony. A weapon used or threatened to be used in a way that is expected to result in death or great bodily harm is considered a “deadly weapon.” It can be argued that an instrument used during the incident is not a deadly weapon within the scope of the statute.
Mistaken Identity: The victim may have been battered by someone who is not the defendant and may be uncertain about the identity of the person. Eyewitnesses may have identified the wrong person or recognized the defendant from a different encounter. If there is any doubt that the defendant committed the alleged crime, a conviction cannot be upheld.
Free Aggravated Battery Criminal Defense Strategy Session in South Florida
We handle aggravated battery cases of all types. We know how to protect your rights and provide you with a customized and aggressive defense to your criminal charges.
Rossen Law Firms offers FREE strategy sessions so you know how we will work to achieve the best possible outcome for your case.
Give us a call today:
HOW WE WIN AGGRAVATED BATTERY CASES IN SOUTH FLORIDA
- Learn how we fought to get an Aggravated Battery charge dropped and expunged in Sunrise, Florida.
- Learn how Rossen Law Firm got an Aggravated Battery with a Deadly Weapon Charge Dropped within a month.