How does a DUI charge affect a nurse in South Florida?: Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense Attorney Explains
Because a Florida Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge involves a nurse using drugs or alcohol, nurses may be required to submit an evaluation or even enroll in an Impaired Nurses Program.
Florida Law says a DUI crime is committed when an individual is under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving or in physical control of a motor vehicle.
If you’re a nurse and have been arrested or charged with a DUI in South Florida, disciplinary actions of any kind are decided on by the Florida Board of Nursing. The board may decide whether or not to conduct their own investigations related to the DUI charge. Whatever the board decides to do in terms of an investigation or disciplinary actions will be in addition to the potential criminal consequences you’re facing due to Florida state DUI laws.
DUI for Florida Nurses: Will I lose my nursing license?
For a first-time DUI charge, it is unlikely a nurse will have their nursing license revoked. A second or third DUI conviction, however, may carry more serious consequences with the Florida Board of Nursing and very well could result in the loss of your nursing license.
An Impaired Nurses Program, if ordered by the Florida Board of Nursing, can help provide support and monitoring to nurses struggling with substance abuse disorders, psychiatric or physical conditions. The goals of the program include offering support a nurse may need, helping a nurse maintain their Florida nursing license and to overall help nurses stay active in their nursing profession.
South Florida’s harsh DUI Jail & Fine Penalties for Nurses
On top of facing potential penalties from the Florida Board of Nursing and your nursing license potentially being in jeapordy, Florida has stiff DUI consequences if you’re convicted.
For one, you only have 10 days to save your license after getting arrested for a DUI in Florida. The sooner you contact a skilled DUI attorney, the better, because they will have more time to petition and file the needed paperwork at the DMV to fight for you to get what’s known as a hardship license so you can continue to drive.
1st DUI in South Florida
0 to 12 months in Jail: There are a few different possibilites when it comes to Jail time for a first-time DUI in Florida. It is possible to not serve any time in jail if convicted, but depending on your BAC, if you refused a breath test or not, had a minor in the car with you or were in a car crash, a first-time DUI can lead to up to 1 year in Broward, Palm Beach, or Miami-Dade County Jail.
2nd DUI in South Florida
10 days to 1 year in Jail: When it comes to a second Florida DUI, you face a minimum of 10 days in jail if your first DUI was within 5 years. Depending on the circumstances, up to 1 year in jail is possible for a second DUI.
3rd DUI in South Florida
30 days to 1 year in jail: Depending on your particular DUI charges, you might be forced to spend a minimum or 30 days in Jail and could face up to 1 year in Jail.
In addition to potential Florida Board of Nursing disciplinary actions and potential jail time, other Florida DUI consequences include potential: fines ranging from $500 to $2,000; driver’s license suspensions; ignition interlock systems; DUI school; and even community service requirements.
To learn more about how DUI charges can affect professional license in Florida, visit our blog: “How to Protect Your Professional License and Yourself when Charged with DUI in Florida”.
FREE DUI Consultation for Nurses Facing DUIs in South Florida
If you’re a nurse in Palm Beach, Broward, or Miami-Dade county and are facing a DUI charge, you’re in the right place. We offer Free Strategy Sessions for DUI charges – these are above and beyond a free consultation. We take the time to get to know you, listen to your full story and once we learn about your case we let you know on the spot how we would work to defend you, your rights, and your nursing license.
Rossen Law Firm has three award-winning DUI attorneys who are ready to fight to defend you, your future, and your career as a nurse. We offer free consultations for nurses facing DUI charges in South Florida.
Give us a call to schedule your free DUI consult today:
Fort Lauderdale: (754) 206-6200
Sunrise: (754) 999-2499
Boca Raton: (561) 880-8181
Rossen Law Firm’s legal team understands what’s at stake when you’re charged with a crime in South Florida. We’re committed to defending you and protecting your rights. Our legal team is ready to create a customized strategy for your case to fight for the best possible outcome. We handle Criminal, DUI, Federal, Domestic Violence, Marchman Act & Baker Act cases, and more.
Rossen Law Firm